Designated Country of Origin Policy Suspended | MyConsultant

Designated Country of Origin Policy Suspended

Introduced in 2012, the Designated Country of Origin policy subjected claimants from any of the 42 countries on the list to a variety of restrictions once in Canada.

These included a six-month bar on work permits and refugee appeals and a 36-month bar on the Pre-Approval Risk Assessment. 

The policies were enacted to speed up processing times for claims from these countries and prevent misuse of the asylum system, but they failed to do either. 

The Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada will no longer use the list or apply these restrictions as some were deemed unlawful under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

The IRB will continue processing refugee claims as quickly as possible and removal from the list will have no bearing on claim outcomes.